Of smokers and smoking

“I like Cigarettes; I like to think of fire held in a man’s hand. Fire, a dangerous force, tamed at his finger tips.” That’s how smoking is romanticized by Ayn Rand in Atlas Shrugged.
As a thought it is powerful and beautiful. And as smokers point out it is their free choice made as free adults. No denying that either.

As long as it remains limited to that

I discovered I was hooked to tobacco when at 26 I was, for the first time in my life, in a smoke free environment 24 hours, 7 days a week.
Growing up, my father who was (and still is) a regular heavy smoker, our house was always tobacco laced. Moving out from home with my first job lead to sharing an apartment with my brother. Also a pretty regular smoker.

My lungs went from one smokers haven to another.

The loss came dramatically when my brother relocated to the US. Now it was just me and my sister, two ‘non-smokers’ sharing the apartment.

I was the elder sister. The head-of-the-house. To be that responsibly I had to smoke. That’s what this urge inside me kept insisting.
The cause of it didn’t strike till later. I was a smoker of second-hand smoke deprived of my nicotine fix for the first time in my life.

Perhaps as the person I am today I would have been a regular smoker by now.
For the much less confident me of 26, it was only the old-fashioned belief that girls from respectable families don’t go to cigarette shops that stopped me. Girls from good families don’t buy cigarettes.

Thank god for that. 🙂 A couple of weeks of fighting the urge overcame it. And it was gone for good.

So all you chimney pots please go ahead and smoke.
Yes, it is your choice and yes, the government over steps its mandate when it interferes in such personal decisions. Equally please respect the rights of others who do not to smoke. Specially your children who cannot understand and cannot shift to another room.

Want your freedom? Ensure you are not taking some other persons freedom away from them.
Go ahead have your smoke but keep it away from me:-)

wordpress stats plugin

2 thoughts on “Of smokers and smoking

  1. Manu Stanley

    Wonderful thought. My father was a heavy smoker too, until a few years ago. I can relate to your feelings quite well. As a result I grew away from the very thought of smoking cigarettes. Even my college friends used to smoke. I was the only non-smoker in the group. 🙂

    But now when I look back after several years of being away from home, it all seems like other-worldly. And yes, I can’t stand the smell of tobacco anymore…maybe due to this disconnect in time and space. 🙂
    But yes, it is always nice when you respect others’ rights when exercising personal pleasures.
    Keep writing!

    Like

Conversations keep blogs alive. Please do leave a comment :-)

